Founded in 1908, the Missouri School of Journalism is the world’s first and finest school of journalism. From its inception, the School has relied on the generosity of countless individuals to fuel the Missouri Method, build and improve facilities, and support students and faculty.

In keeping with this proud tradition, the 1908 Society is a network of engaged, committed alumni and friends who support the priorities of the Missouri School of Journalism through annual, unrestricted investment.

Membership requires an annual gift to the 1908 Fund for Journalism Excellence—$2,500 for an individual or couple in a fiscal year (July 1 through June 30), or $1,500 for alumni and friends 35 and under.

Membership in the 1908 Society is your chance to have the most direct, positive impact on the Missouri School of Journalism and to preserve and advance our reputation as one of the world’s best journalism schools. Your investment in the fund allows the School to remain responsive to student, faculty and industry needs while pursuing new initiatives, improving facilities and technology, and continuing to lead journalism education, as it has for more than a century.

1908 Society membership benefits include:

  • Distinction as part of the Dean’s Leadership Circle, a cross-section of the School’s most involved and dedicated alumni, with access to updates and information about the School, directly from Dean David Kurpius
  • Invitations to special members-only events and experiences, including behind-the-scenes media tours (spring 2017 in New York City or Washington, DC), on-campus gatherings and international experiences (summer 2017 in Brussels)
  • Opportunities to network and connect with fellow members
  • Recognition through the Columns Society, MU’s annual leadership giving society
Join the 1908 Society

Please note you can elect to make your entire gift online or choose monthly/quarterly payments over the course of the fiscal year.

For more information on the 1908 Society, please contact:

Shannon Burke-Kranzberg
Director of Advancement
Missouri School of Journalism
(573) 882-4822

Pay By Check

Checks should be made payable to the Missouri School of Journalism, and you should write “1908 Society” in the designated memo section.

Send checks to:

Office of Advancement – 1908 Society
Missouri School of Journalism
103 Neff Hall
Columbia, MO 65211

Jody and Dick Feldman

Jody (BJ ’78) and Dick (BJ ’78) Feldman

“It’s rare that historied institutions jump with both feet into dynamic, new programming. Then again, we’re talking about the Missouri School of Journalism.

This past spring, with Dean Kurpius, we batted around the idea of an organization offering increased access to the J-School. We figured it might show up in a five-year plan, but several months later, the 1908 Society is already coming to life.

The 1908 Society won’t be simply an email here and a newsletter there. The plans include cutting-edge programming, elevated networking prospects, and unparalleled opportunities for us, while making an impact on the school and, perhaps, directly on the lives of individual students who started as we did. Funding from 1908 Society will also give J-School the flexibility to initiate programs and continue its mission to be on the forefront of journalism and strategic communications

Whether you’ve followed the journalism career path or whether J-School has launched you into a different set of successes, we hope you’ll join us in shaping the 1908 Society to be the model of excellence and achievement other J-Schools will come to envy.”

Jody and Dick Feldman
1908 Society Founding Chairs